hands study | 23.09.17

…And I thought, wouldn’t watercolours give this art style a nice touch – so an hour later, this.

hands study.

Hands study 🌌 – Casual blend of watercolours with a touch of the galaxy palette. I was inspired by the potrayal of hands in vintage oil paintings, which focus on the details of the joints in relation to the overall structure of hands when in a natural poise. And I thought, wouldn’t watercolours give this art style a nice touch – so an hour later, this.

The layered watercolours resulted in a rough, textured finish, which went surprisingly well with the bits of pencil sketch lines lying here and there. That aside, the grey undertone was what brought them to life; I mean, look at those hands, they look like they’ve been through some tough times.

The marbling in the galaxy gave it its fluid, haphazard shape, and the vibrancy’s contrasted beautifully against the hands. Still have lots to work on, but I think I’ve got the colour scheme going, and I’m loving it. x

Leave a comment